

Maryland Association of Election Officials Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

April 15, 2025 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held virtually on the 15th day of April 2025. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Erin Perrone, President (Carroll County)
Stephanie Taylor, Vice President (Harford County)
Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City)
Tae Frere, Treasurer (St. Mary's County)
Barry Jackson, Board Member (Washington County)
Jessica Noranbrock, Board Member (Dorchester County)
Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Baltimore County)
Reider White II, Board Member (Anne Arundel County)

Absent: Teresa Womble, Board Member (Howard County)

CALL TO ORDER:

President Erin Perrone called the meeting to order at 10:00 am. A quorum was established with 8 of the 9 board members present.

MINUTES:

The minutes of the March 18th meeting were presented. Mr. Barry Jackson made a motion to accept all the minutes with one edit. Ms. Tae Frere seconded the motion. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA:

None.

PRESIDENTS REPORT:

Ms. Perrone welcomed everyone.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

Tae Frere presented the treasurer's report, indicating that funds were still being collected from some counties, but they were on track for May. Ms. Tae Frere also reported approximately 292 registrations for the biennial and 289 for the conference. This number excludes vendors.

Ms. Jessica Noranbrock moved to approve the report, Mr. Reider White seconded, and the motion passed.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Several committee reports were given.

Ms. Jennifer Klem reported on the upcoming audit on Thursday, April 17, 2025 at 10:00 am in Howard County.

Ms. Jessica Noranbrock provided an update on the newsletter, thanking committee members and highlighting Rita's contributions in formatting. The next issue will be the last week of June or early July.

Ms. Monica Wright and Ms. Olivia Smith presented the Election Judges Committee report, focusing on Google Classroom implementation for election judge training. They noted the successful presentation and the plan to create a standardized template.

Mr. Reider White reported on the Election Technology Committee's upcoming meeting on April 24, 2025, and the progress of a new subcommittee.

Mr. John Michael Gudger provided a legislative review, highlighting key bills passed and those that did not pass. He also noted the impact of the RLA bill.

OLD BUSINESS:

2025 Conference:

Ms. Erin Perrone provided updates on the upcoming conference, including the April 18th cancellation deadline, updated agendas, and a new policy regarding outside food being brought into the sessions. She also highlighted the planned activities such as vendor scavenger hunts, breaks, and breakout sessions

NEW BUSINESS:

RLA Bill Discussion: The RLA bill, which requires a pre-certification audit, was

discussed. Ms. Stephanie Taylor clarified that counties have until state certification to complete the audit and explained a workground to avoid delays.

<u>Ballot Drop Box Lock Modification</u>: Ms. Jessica Noranbrock updated the group on the ballot drop box lock modifications, noting a successful demonstration and that larger counties are exploring alternative solutions.

<u>Past President's Award</u>: Tiffany Ferrell proposed removing the past president's award from the policy, given that past presidents are already recognized through the Hall of Fame. Ms. Stephanie Taylor made the motion to remove it. Ms. Kimberly Phillips seconded, and the motion passed.

Open Forum:

Ms. Jessica Noranbrock inquired about the website committee's progress and access to the member portal password. Ms. Olivia Smith responded, explaining that the newsletter would be added to the member portal and provided instructions on password retrieval.

Mr. Barry Jackson inquired about the Open Meetings Act update, and Erin Perrone explained that Ms. Katherine Berry would follow up with directors and deputy directors.

ADJOURNMENT

Meeting Adjournment: Abigail Goldman moved to adjourn the meeting, Stephanie Taylor seconded, and the meeting adjourned at 10:49 am.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 20th, 2025. It will be held virtually.

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted

Aligail Yeldman

Abigail Goldman MAEO Secretary

Approved at June 17, 2025 meeting