

# Maryland Association of Election Officials Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

# September 17, 2024 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held in person on the 17th day of September 2024. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

#### OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Erin Perrone, President (Carroll County)
Stephanie Taylor, Vice President (Harford County)
Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City)
Tae Frere, Treasurer (St. Mary's County)
Barry Jackson, Board Member (Washington County)
Jessica Noranbrock, Board Member (Dorchester County)
Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Baltimore County)
Reider White II, Board Member (Anne Arundel County)
Teresa Womble, Board Member (Howard County)

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

President Erin Perrone called the meeting to order at 10:00 am. A quorum was established with 9 of the 9 board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

## MINUTES:

The minutes of the August 27, 2024, meeting was presented Ms. Tae Frere made a motion to accept the minutes as amended. Ms. Teresa Womble seconded the minutes. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

#### **ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA:**

Ms. Chrissy Jones shared that there is a film out there called "The Election Official" and it premiered in Detroit at the National Association of Election Officials. Ms Jones spoke about it and it is being released on <a href="https://www.time.com">www.time.com</a> today.

## PRESIDENTS REPORT:

Ms. Perrone reported that Ms. Katherine Berry sent out and email about being vigilant while opening mail and to take pictures of any mail that looks suspicious and send it to Ms. Berry and isolate it.

## TREASURER'S REPORT:

Ms. Frere reported that she is inputting everything in QuickBooks so that we can see where the money is going and for what. This will make the association accountable for the spending.

## **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

Mail-In Voting / Voter Registration – Ms. Frere said they met once since the last meeting and reminded everyone to no to forget to send out their UOCAVA 's by Friday.

Ms. Taylor reported that she has found that third parties are pasting signatures on the applications, and she has spoken to Ms. Jennifer McLaughlin at SBE and it has caught everyone's attention and their attorney is aware of it.

Tiffany Ferrell spoke about SB115.

Ms. Perrone send an email reminder to the membership and extended the deadline to sign up for two more weeks. proposed to change some committees. She wants to:

## **OLD BUSINESS:**

2025 Conference:

No update at this time but there will be one at the next meeting.

Independent Counsel – Ms. Perrone has received some referrals to attorneys who specialize in this. She also wants to establish MAEO as an official recognized organization once we find out what is involved.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

2024 Conference – Ms. Frere said a survey needs to be sent out on the 2025 conference on what the members are interested in seeing. Ms. Taylor stated that she was very uncomfortable with being around elected officials and she wanted to know what the benefit of MAEO is attending the MACo conference. Ms. Frere stated that it roughly cost \$4000 for 2 members to go. Ms. Gwen Dales like to go to meet her local officials at a casual setting. She thinks it's a positive expense.

Mr. Jared DeMarinis said that it is boarder line as being a lobbyist.

Ms. Kimberly Phillips made a motion not send a representative to the MACo Winter Conference. Ms. Frere seconded. All opposed.

Mr. Reider White modified the motion to say unless we are invited.

New motion by Mr. White: We will not send a representative to MACo until we are invited and will have a Board discussion about who we send to represent us based on the topics.

Ms. Taylor seconded the motion. Motion passed.

## **OPEN SESSION:**

Ms. Taylor made a motion to cancel the October and November meetings since we will be at the heart of the election.

Ms. Goldman seconded. The motion carried.

## **NEXT MEETING**

The next meeting will be held virtually on December 17, 2024, with a holiday party in January to be held in Anne Arundel County.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Erin Perrone and seconded by Mr. Barry Jackson. The meeting was adjourned at 11:14 am.

Respectfully submitted

ahigail Geldman

Abigail Goldman

Secretary

# ATTENDENCE:

NAME	COUNTY
Erin Perrone	Carroll
Tae Frere	St. Mary's
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City
Barry Jackson	Washington
Kimberly Phillips	Baltimore County
Reider White II	Anne Arundel
Teresa Womble	Howard
Allison Murphy	Caroline
Amanda Beanblossom	Harford
Amber Ringgold	Harford
Amy Sullivan	Harford
Anthony Gutirrez	Frederick
Barbara Wagner	Frederick
Beck Seckler	Howard
Bill Blockston	Wicomico
Boris Brajkovic	Montgomery
Brittany	Dorchester
Charlotte Davis	Howard
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Cheyenne Richards	Anne Arundel
Chrissy Jones	Queen Anne's
Colby Martin	Queen Anne's
Crystal McGinn	SBE
Debra Brohawn	Caroline
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Dionne Church	Wicomico

Donald Gather	Anne Arundel
Erin Fee	Queen Anne's
Fred Gleockler	Talbot
Gary Holmes	Cecil
Guy Mickley	Howard
Gwen Dales	Dorchester
Jared Demarinis	SBE
Jena Anthony	Queen Anne's
Jennifer Bartholow	Carroll
JohnMichael Gudger	Carroll
Julia Cox	Somerset
Justin Wall	Harford
Karen Benecewicz	Cecil
Karen Perry	Harford
Katie Berry	SBE
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Khalfani Blount	Prince Georges
Khystyna Bednarek	Harford
Kim Jones	Dorchester
Kim Spence	Queen Anne's
Kyle Durham	Queen Anne's
Larry Thomas	Talbot
Lisa Nash	SBE
Mia Farber	Carroll
Olivia Smith	Carroll
Paul Noranbrock	SBE
Richard Siejack	Anne Arundel
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Russell Hicks	SBE
Sloane	Dorchester
Susan Julian	St Mary's
Tammy Willis	Caroline
Teresa Morningstar	Washington
Tiffany Ferrell	Howard
Veronica Fox	Wicomico

Wendy Atkins	St Mary's
Wendy Maddux	Prince Georges