

March 31, 2023 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held in person on the 31st day of March 2023. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided. The meeting was held at the St Mary's Board of Elections office.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Baltimore County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Anthony Gutierrez, Board Member (Frederick County) Barry Jackson, Board Member (Washington County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Baltimore County) Tae Frere, Board Member (St. Mary's County)

On Phone: Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County)

CALL TO ORDER:

Vice President Ms. Ruie Lavoie called the meeting to order at 10:13 am. A quorum was established with 8 of the 9 board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA:

Move agenda item number 7 to the number 2 position. Motion: Ms. Ruie Lavoie made a motion to accept the change. Seconded: Ms. Danna Archie-Williams Motion carried.

PRESIDENTS REPORT:

None

MINUTES:

Ms. Goldman presented the minutes of the February 23, 2023 meeting for their approval. Ms. Kim Phillips motioned to accept the minutes as presented. It was seconded by Mr. Barry Washington. The motion carried.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

None

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Audit- Committee will meet 2 weeks prior to the conference at the treasurer 's office. The Board is invited.

Awards & Recognition- An email was sent out to ask for nominations for awards and retirement recognitions from 2021 – 2022 since we did not recognize them at the last conference. Ms. Archie Williams will resend it out to a reminder to all directors and deputy directors.

Conference Planning – See in old business.

Constitution & Bylaws - none

Early Voting/Election Judges – Ms. Phillips reported that she and Ms. Graves are setting up a meeting soon.

Educational & Grant – None

Elections - There's no elections this year.

Election Technology- Mr. Frey reported that a meeting will be held soon.

Legislative – Ms. Berry reported HB 1200 is still navigating with it this is with the bonus for returning election judges. HP 410 has been amended in the Senate and April 10th is the last day of session.

Mail-In Voting – Ms. Frere reported is working with Jen McLaughlin to change the application language and layout in making it easier. Jen is taking it to SBE for approval.

Newsletter – Ms. Jessica Norenbrock reported thanked the points of contact and is accepting submissions until next week for the next issue. She hopes to have it out in 2 weeks.

Personnel – Ms. Lavoie and Ms. Perrone co-chair this committee. The election series will not change. However, they are open to help anyone with forms etc. that need to be filled out for personnel. David Garreis said the Governor wants employee retention and it is a good environment to make changes.

Standards- Ms. Dionne Church has nothing to report on currently but looks forward to setting up a meeting soon.

State Regulations Review – Ms. Berry said they are meeting to clean up regulations.

Voter Outreach-The committee is trying to set up a meeting in March.

Voter Registration – Met and had a great discussion. They will meet again with Brett Paradise and Janet Smith after the conference.

Website-Mr. Aslam reported that the website is up to date.

Implementation Committee - Mr. Garries brought up that new committee for Implementation is now redundant so the board voted to nullify the new committee. The motion was made by Barry Washington, seconded by Kimberly Phillips. There was no opposition to the motion, the motion carried.

OLD BUSINESS:

Conference 2023:

Ms. Ruie Lavoie gave a conference update. She is finalizing the speakers and the long agenda and hopes it will go out Monday. The hotel is full for the first night and filling up fast for the rest of the nights.

Conference Insurance:

Ms. Archie Williams received 3 quotes.

- 1. Allien Finance
- 2. Event Insurance RV and A
- 3. K and K

We have used K and K in previous years and they cover overnight and alcohol and basically cover everything we need. Ms. Tae Frere made a motion to accept K and K and it was seconded by Barry Washington.

NEW BUSINESS:

Code of Conduct: Ms. Lavoie would like the MAEO board to have a code of conduct for the Board like all other organizations do. The Board thought it was a wonderful idea. The motion was made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and seconded by Mr. Barry Washington. The motion passed.

OPEN SESSION:

None

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Ms. Danna Archie-Williams, the meeting was adjourned at 11:54 am.

NEXT MEETING

TBD

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE: MARCH 31, 2023 (* Denotes Board Member)

ATTENDEE	LBE
Abigail Goldman*	Baltimore City
Allison Murphy	Caroline
Amy Sullivan	Harford
Anthony Gutierrez*	Frederick
Barbara Salvatore	Harford
Barbara Wagner	Frederick
Barry Jackson*	Washington
Ben Frey	Somerset
Blaire Johnson	Baltimore County
Boris Brajkovic	Montgomery
Brandi Underwood	St Mary's
Brett Paradise	SBE
Briaca Moore	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Chrissy Jones	Queen Annes
Chrystal McGinn	SBE
Chyenne Richards	Anne Arundel
Daniel Callahan	Frederick
Danna Archie Williams*	Baltimore County
David Garreis*	Anne Arundel
David Jones	St Mary's

Debra Brohawn	Caroline
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel
Donna Hacker	Talbot
Doug Walker	Cecil
Erin Free	Queen Anne's
Erin Perrone	Carroll
Garret Newbill	Baltimore County
Gwen Dales	Dorchester
James Harris	Baltimore County
Jasmine Barnett	Cecil
Jena Anthony	Queen Annes
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Karen Perry	Harford
Katie Berry	Carroll
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kenkishaw Alvi	Baltimore County
Khalfani Blount	Prince Georges
Kimberly Phillips*	Baltimore County
Lateef Owodunni	Prince Georges
Lenice Austin	Baltimore County
Linda Miller	Anne Arundel
Lisa Nash	Baltimore County
Marc Welch	Frederick
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Michelle Meekins	Kent
Olivia Smith	
Paul Noranbrock	Wicomico
Reider White	Anne Arundel
Rhonda Quidas	
Richard Siejack	Anne Arundel
Rita Evans	Baltimore County
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Ruie Lavoie*	Baltimore County
Sarah Leavitt	St. Mary's
Shane Blankenship	St Mary's
Shantice Nedd	Baltimore County
Sloan Hurley	Dorchester
Stephen Fergus	Harford
Susan Julian	St. Mary's
Susan Kreutter	Prince Georges

Tae Frere*	St. Mary's
Tammy Willis	
Teresa Morningstar	Washington
Teresa Riggin	Worchester
Teresa Womble	Howard
Tom Corgan	Frederick
Toni Breard	Frederick
Tracy Dickerson	Charles
Tyrone Creek	Baltimore County
Wendy Adkins	St. Mary's
Wendy Day	
LBES/SBE	
Alleghany	\checkmark
Anne Arundel	\checkmark
Baltimore City	\checkmark
Baltimore County	\checkmark
Calvert	X
Caroline	\checkmark
Carroll	\checkmark
Cecil	\checkmark
Charles	\checkmark
Dorchester	\checkmark
Frederick	\checkmark
Garrett	X
Harford	\checkmark
Howard	\checkmark
Kent	\checkmark
Montgomery	\checkmark
Prince Georges	\checkmark
Queen Anne	\checkmark
St Mary's	\checkmark
Somerset	\checkmark
Talbot	✓
Washington	\checkmark
Wicomico	\checkmark
Worcester	✓
SBE	\checkmark
APPROVED	1

APPROVED