

August 12, 2022 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held virtually on the 12th day of August 2022. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

EXCUSED:

Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County)

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:021 am. A quorum was established with 8 of the 9 board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: Under new business Mr. Garreis want to add the letter from ACLU.

PRESIDENTS REPORT: The President said he knows we all have been very busy and we are glad to have redistricting off our plates.

MINUTES: Tabled for this meeting

TREASURER'S REPORT: Tabled for this meeting

COMMITTEE REPORTS: Tabled for this meeting

OLD BUSINESS:

Conference 2022: The registration form is due to go out in the mail today. There is a \$20 fee for those who will attend in person and the space will be limited to first come first serve so let Danna and Ruie know. In addition, we are having it virtual for those who can not make it, but it will not be done professionally like last year. We have lined up the FBI to do a 30 minute presentation on Election Preparation. Also, there will be a session on situational awareness. Kevin Kinnely from MACo will be there to discuss legislation.

NEW BUSINESS:

ACLU letter – MAEO was cc'ed on a letter to SBE. Mr. Garreis drafted a note to Ms. Lamone and SBE asking to be included on their response.

OPEN FORUM:

- Discussion was brought up on issues we faced this election such as:
 - o Election judges and Chief Judges resigning
 - Election judges not stepping up to assume a Chief Judges job when they did not show up
 - o COVID
 - Staffing issues
 - Need Vote Centers
 - Too many early voting days
 - We are running two elections at the same time with limited resources
- Mr. Garreis said that his staff is working with Tritek in a controlled environment right now and is making progress so he hopes we will be able to use the machine to its fullest in the General Election.
- Ms. Wagner said that SBE had to appear before the DPW for emergency procurement for more VRA's and Lt. Governor Rutherford brought up everything we did about this election.
- Ms. Alexander said that we need to revisit the security bill that was voted down in the last session that would include us in the group that needs additional security.
 - $_{\odot}~$ An LBE was followed from a drop box for 3 miles.
 - LBE drop boxes were being watched by campaigns.

He encouraged persons to run for office.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Danna Archie-Williams, the meeting was adjourned at 10:56am.

The next meeting is scheduled for the annual conference on September 22, 2022.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

ATTENDEE	LBE
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges
Armstead Jones	Baltimore City
Ben Frey	Somerset
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Chris McDougal	Charles
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's
Daneen Banks	Prince Georges
Danna Archie Williams	Baltimore County
David Garreis	Anne Arundel
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Dionne Church	Talbot
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel
Donna Hacker	
Donna Hackler	
Doug Walker	Cecil
Erin Free	
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot
Guy Mickley	Howard
Gwen Dales	Dorchester
Hassan Aslam	Anne Arundel
Janet Smith	SBE
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico
Kady Kilmer	Calvert
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kimberly Phillips	Howard
Kristen Scott	Calvert

Mary C. Wagner	SBE
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Patricia Jackson	Worcester
Paul Noranbrock	Wicomico
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Ruie Lavoie	Baltimore County
Shawn Larson	Baltimore City
Sloane Hurley	Dorchester
Svetlana Passey	Calvert
Tammy Stafford	
Timothy Keith	
Virginia Green	Harford
Zsaime Williams	

Minutes approved