

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Marvland

May 17, 2022 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held virtually on the 17th day of May 2022. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

EXCUSED:

Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County)

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:01 am. A quorum was established with 7 of the 9 board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

PRESIDENTS REPORT: The President said he knows we all have been very busy and we are glad to have redistricting off our plates.

MINUTES: Tabled for this meeting

TREASURER'S REPORT: Tabled for this meeting

COMMITTEE REPORTS: Tabled for this meeting

OLD BUSINESS:

Conference 2022: It's been scheduled for September 22, 2022. It will be a virtual and in person conference. The election will be a mail in ballot election and Jeff will be getting out information soon. Every member of MAEO will get a ballot.

Ms. Lavoie would like to add two new award categories:

Ms. Lavoie made a motion to create an award to recognize persons who are not members of MAEO but do a lot for the organization and an unsung hero award.

The motion was seconded by Ms. Goldman. No opposition and the motion passed.

NEW BUSINESS:

MACo: Mr. Garreis wants to send Ms. Ruie Lavoie and Ms. Katie Berry to the summer conference, and he made a motion for that. Ms. Goldman seconded. No opposition and the motion carried.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held on June 17, 2022 at 11 AM. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Danna Archie-Williams and second by Ms. Chrissy Jones, the meeting was adjourned at 10:15 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

Minutes approved