

January 24, 2023 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held in person on the 24th day of January 2023. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Baltimore County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Anthony Gutierrez, Board Member (Frederick County) Barry Jackson, Board Member (Washington County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County) Tae Frere, Board Member (St. Mary's County)

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:01 am. A quorum was established with 9 of the 9 board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

PRESIDENTS REPORT:

Mr. Garries welcomed everyone to the first in person meeting since the conference. He is happy to see everyone. He also said we all got over the 2022 election and there are big changes coming and it will be an exciting time. We will take what we learned in 2022 into the 2024 election.

MINUTES:

Ms. Goldman presented the minutes of the August 12, 2022, meeting for their approval. Ms. Kim Phillips motioned to accept the minutes as presented. It was seconded by Ms. Ruie Lavoie. The motion carried.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

Ms. Danna Archie Williams presented her report. As of today, she has 8 LBE's paperwork and payment. She has received 6 LBE's paperwork only. As of today, we have 213 members and growing. She asks that all LBE's send in their paperwork asap. Her actual printer is attached.

COMMITTEE REPORTS: Tabled for this meeting.

OLD BUSINESS:

MaCO conference: Ms. Lavoie attended the winter conference. She graduated from the Maryland Public Policy and was recognized at the conference. She feels that we now have forged a good relationship between MaCo and MAEO.

EAC: Ms. Lavoie and Ms. Alexander are our representatives to the EAC. Ms. Lavoie gave an overview on what this committee is.

Conference 2023:

Ms. Ruie reported that we are planning a weeklong conference. It is in person at the Clarion which has changed their management and name. It is now Ocean City Fontainebleau Resort. We are going in April for a preconference meeting. The agenda is being built but if you have any ideas please reach out to her. This year the registration fee is \$245. The food has gone up and the cost per person is around \$500. So, guests will have to pay the full \$245 fee.

She also urges the membership to make reservations immediately once she sends out the link. We do not have the condos next door anymore and the hotel is working with other hotels to take our membership in but the locations are not close. If you make reservations on line they will take one day payment however if you call in they will waive the one day fee.

This year's hosts are Baltimore County and Anne Arundel County.

The Board voted on the theme of for the conference. The winner was with 3 votes:

MAEO: "Making it Count". (Attached is the listing of the submissions.

NEW BUSINESS:

Committee Chair announcements: Mr. Garreis announced the new committee chairs.

MAEO will be setting up a lesson learned meeting later this year.

iGO- Ms. Chrissy Jones said the annual conference is this summer in Fort Worth, Texas. This is a great opportunity for networking and learning. Stephanie Taylor from Harford is the delegation head from Maryland and Chrissy is the vice president.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Danna Archie-Williams and second by Chrissy Jones, the meeting was adjourned at 11:01am.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting is scheduled on February 23, 2023 at 10:00 am at Baltimore County.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

ATTENDEE	LBE
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges
Allison Murphy	Caroline
Amber Ringgold	Harford
Amy Sullivan	Harford
Anna Zajac-Ference	Anne Arundel
Anthony Gutierrez	Frederick
Barbara Salvatore	Harford
Barbara Wagner	Frederick
Barry Jackson	Washington
Ben Frey	Somerset
Blaire Johnson	Baltimore County
Brenda Powell	Somerset
Brett Paradise	SBE
Carol Byrd	Baltimore County
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Chequonne Woodson	Prince Georges
Cheyene Richards	Anne Arundel
Chris McDougal	Charles
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's
Chrystal McGinn	SBE
Cindy Remmey	Cecil
Colby Martin	Queen Annes
Danna Archie Williams	Baltimore County
David Garreis	Anne Arundel
Debbie Brohawn	Caroline
Devin Jones	Anne Arundel
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Dionne Church	Wicomico

Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel
Donna Hacker	Talbot
Doug Walker	Cecil
Erika Penman	Baltimore County
Erin Free	
Erin Perrone	Carroll
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot
Gail Hatfield	Calvert
Garret Newbill	Baltimore County
Guy Mickley	Howard
Gwen Dales	Dorchester
Janie Quartucci	Anne Arundel
Jasmine Scarborough	Wicomico
Jasmine Scarborough	Wicomico
Jen McLaughlin	SBE
Jena Anthony	Queen Annes
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Jocelyn Montgomery	Wicomico
Judi East	Wicomico
Julia Cox	Somerset
Katie Berry	Carroll
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kenkishaw Alvi	Baltimore County
Khrystanya Bednarek	Harford
Kim Jones	Dorchester
Kim Slusar	Harford
Kimberly Phillips	Baltimore County
Kristen Scott	Calvert
Kyadena Watkins	Anne Arundel
Lateef Owodunni	Prince Georges
Lenice Austin	Baltimore County
Linda Lamone	SBE
Linda Miller	Anne Arundel
Lisa Nash	Baltimore County
Lisa Stanley	Baltimore City
Loretta Malloy	Anne Arundel
Mary Ann Mogavero	SBE
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Michael Colbert	Prince Goerges
Michelle Meekins	Kent
Nikki Charleson	SBE
Nikki Charleson	SBE

Paul Noranbrock	Wicomico
Reider White	Anne Arundel
Rena Waggoner	Baltimore County
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Richard Siejack	Anne Arundel
Rita Evans	Baltimore County
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Robert Jaensch	Calvert
Ruie Lavoie	Baltimore County
Sabrina Graves	Baltimore City
Sarah Leavitt	St. Mary's
Shane Blankenship	St Marys
Shantice Nedd	Baltimore County
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Stephen Fergus	Harford
Susan Julian	St. Mary's
Susan Kreutter	Prince Georges
Tammy Stafford	Talbot
Tae Frere	St. Marys
Tammy Willis	Caroline
Teresa Morningstar	Washington
Teresa Riggins	Worcester
Timothy Keith	
Tina Bryant	Baltimore County
Tyrone Creek	Baltimore County
Veronica Fox	Wicomico
Wendy Adkins	St. Mary's
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City