

Emergency board meeting February 18, 2022 MINUTES

An emergency meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) for Election Directors, Deputy Directors, Board Members and SBE was held virtually on 18th day of February 2022. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

## OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Please see attached listing.

## CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 09:02 am. A quorum was established with all 9 of the board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

#### ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

MINUTES: None

TREASURER'S REPORT: None

**COMMITTEE REPORTS:** None

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

None

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

Redistricting - Only purpose of this meeting

Mr. Guy Mickley gave an overview on the hearing yesterday concerning the redistricting lawsuit and election timeline.

We could move the election to July 26, 2022 and move it to vote centers. We wouldn't have to wait for redistricting. This will give us a relief in the back end of the election cycle. There are things that we are thinking of and the courts are not thinking nor are aware of. For example, Natasha 's deadlines for ballot generation and her time line, UOHAVA deadlines, if the election was changed the availability for individual polling place and early voting may not be available any more if they are a private location. If a redistricting line change that day for election is out of the question. Mr. Mickley feels we need action! We help and we need leadership now. We need the backing of the State Board of Elections on this.

Mr. Garreis wants consensus about where we want to go we what we really. MAEO feels we want vote centers. Time is of a factor. Ms. Katie Berry feels very frustrated. We started this conversation a year ago now we're at the 11th hour and discussing this issue. All of the Directors and Deputy Directors and Board members on the call feel this way too.

Ms. Donna Duncan from the State Board of Elections stated that Ms. Lamone and Ms. Charlson really wanted to be in this call but due to a table top exercise they couldn't. However, SBE hears us and said that Mr. Andrea Trento, Assistant Attorney General did a wonderful job in the hearing. All of MAEO members agreed that he did and want Ms. Duncan to give him out thanks. She wants us to continue writing our letter because she feels this will go onto the record of what he needs and what the state board needs to push for. Mr. Andrea Trento said a few times in the hearing that said format of elections will need to change. She reiterates again did not give up on writing the document because it needed for the courts and we're up against a wall because we can't move any of the federal deadlines.

Mr. Garreis would like to create a group together to look into this and it would look at what is needed to implement vote centers for the 2022 primary and general. Ms. Ruie Lavoie motion to create the group and Ms. Kimberly Phillips seconded the motion. The motion carried it is now going to be called the Implementation Committee. The discussion was held who would chair the committee and Ms. Kimberly Phillips said she would help in this and Ms. Erin Perrone said she give her a few days and she may want to chair the committee with Kim. A sign-up sheet will go out through county support.

Mr. David Garreis said he hopes to finish the official letter by Wednesday.

#### **NEXT MEETING**

The next meeting was set up for February 25, 2022 at 9:00 AM.

#### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Abigail Goldman and second by Ms. Chrissy Jones, the meeting was adjourned at 10:49 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

## MEETING ATTENDENCE: 2/18/2021

	COUNTY
NAME	
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City
Allison Murphy	Caroline
Alysoun MacLaughlin	Montgomery
Anthony Gutierrez	Wicomico
Barbara Wagner	Frederick
Barry Jackson	Washington
Ben Frey	Somerset
Brittany M. Phillips	Dorchester
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Christine Jones	Queen Anne
Daniel Oltman	Anne Arundel
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County
David Garreis	Anne Arundel
David Jones	
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Dionne Church	Talbot
Donna Duncan	SBE
Erin Perrone	Carroll
Guy Mickley	Howard
Gwen Dales	Dorchester
Janet Smith	SBE
Jared DeMarias	SBE
Jeffrey White	Howard
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Julia Cox	
Karen Perry	Cecil
Katherine Berry	Carroll

Kaye Robucci	Washington
Kim H. Slusar	Harford
Kim Jones	Dorchester
Kimberly Phillips	Howard
Kristen Scott	Calvert
Marc Welch	Frederick
Mary C. Wagner	SBE
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Reider Bennett-White	Anne Arundel
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Ruie Lavoie	Baltimore County
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Tae Frere	St Mary's
Teresa Morningstar	Washington
Tracy Dickerson	Charles

# Minutes approved at the March 11, 2022 meeting