

January 28, 2022 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held hybrid on 28th day of January 2022. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

# OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Please see attached listing.

# CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:04 am. A quorum was established with 9 of the board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

## ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA:

Under New Business Ms. Lavoie would like to add the topic of the 2023 conference dates.

MOTION: Ms. Ruie Lavoie motioned to add this topic under new business

SECOND: Ms. Abigail Goldman seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried.

## **MINUTES:**

No minutes were presented to the Board

## TREASURER'S REPORT:

None

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

No Committee Reports

#### OLD BUSINESS:

None

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

Survey – Polling places vs. Vote Centers – A survey was sent out to the Directors and Deputy Directors concerning the ability to get election judges and polling locations. A discussion was held on polling place consolidations and precinct realignments etc. Ms. Berry put a narrative together to put the legislature on notice. Mr. Garreis sent a letter to SBE expressing our concerns.

Ms. Berry reported that SJ2 – Redistricting Bill was passed and there are sure to be lawsuits filed.

Mr. Mickley expressed due to the grants a lot of us received we were able to give the election judges hazard pay for working during COVID. This year grants are hard to come by and monies are not in our budget for it.

2023 Conference dates: Ms. Lavoie suggested a few dates for the 2023 conference so that we will not lose out to the discounted rates. The dates they offered are May 14-19 or May 21-26. There was a discussion that since Mother's Day is on the 14<sup>th</sup> the Conference should be booked from May 15-20, 2023

MOTION: Mr. Ben Frey made the motion to schedule the conference for May 15-20, 2023

SECOND: Ms. Alisha Alexander seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion.

The next meeting will be held at 10:00 am on February 11, 2022 at 9:00 am. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

## ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Ms. Abigail Goldman, the meeting was adjourned at 12:01 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges
Allison Murphy	Caroline
Amanda White	Baltimore County
Amy Sullivan	Harford
Barbara Wagner -	Frederick
Barry Jackson	Washington
Ben Frey	Somerset
Bill Blockston	Wicomico
Brittany Feagans	
Cecil Elections	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's
Clifton Mowell	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's
Daneen Banks	Prince Georges
David Garreis	Anne Arundel
Diane Loibel	Alleghany
Dionne Church	Talbot
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel
Guy Mickley	Howard
Jennifer McLaughlin	SBE
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Karen Perry	Cecil
Katherine Berry	Carroll
Keith Ross	SBE

Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kim Spence	Queen Anne's
Kimberly Phillips	Howard
Kristen Scott	Calvert
Lateef Owodunni	Prince Georges
Linda A. Miller	Anne Arundel
Marc Welch	Frederick
Mark Smith	SBE
Mary C. Wagner	SBE
MaryAnn Mogavero	SBE
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Michelle Meekins	Kent
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil
Olivia Smith	
Patricia Jackson	Worcester
Paul Noranbrock	Wicomico
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Richard Siejack	Harford
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Ruie Lavoie	Baltimore County
Shawn Larson	Baltimore City
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Stephen Feryus	Harford
Svetlana Passey	Calvert

Tae Frere	St Mary's
Tammy Willis	Caroline
Teresa Riggin	Worcester
Teresa Womble	Howard
Tiffany Ferrell	Howard
Tracy Dickerson	Charles
Virginia Green	Harford

# Minutes approved at the March 11, 2022 meeting