

Maryland Association of Election Officials

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

December 20, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held hybrid on 20th day of December 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County)
Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County)
Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County)
Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City)
Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County)
Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County)

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:

Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Please see attached listing.

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:10 am. A quorum was established with 6 of the board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

MINUTES:

The Board Minutes of the October 29, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Danna Archie Williams motioned to approve the Minutes of the October 29, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Ruie Lavoie seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

For the Period August 10, 2021 to December 20, 2021

Balance on Hand August 10, 2021 Audit was \$73,674.50

Receivables \$114,125.38

Expenditures: \$60,323.90

Total in Account as of December 20, 2021 \$53,801.48

Minus Balance of Educational Grants \$(3,983.02)

Earmarked 2022 Conference \$(15,000.00)

Balance on Hand December 20, 2021 \$34,818.46

Ms. Lavoie thanked Ms. Archie Williams for all she does.

MOTION: Ms. Abigail Goldman made a motion to approve the Treasures Report.

SECOND: Ms. Ruie Lavoie seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried - the Treasures Report was approved.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Absentee Ballot - No report at this time.

Audit – No report at this time.

Awards – No report at this time.

Constitution and Bylaws – No report at this time.

Elections – No report at this time.

Early Voting/Election Judge – No report at this time.

Election Technology Committee – No report at this time.

Legislative –Ms. Berry reported that there are two bills that will be introduced on opening Vote by Mail ballots. In addition, there is an interest in raising the floor for the election judge payments. However, the legislature is not interested in pursuing a tax credit for the election judge. The congressional map was passed, then vetoed, then passed again. It will be going to court now.

Newsletter – Ms. Jessica Noranbrock reported they met on November 9, 2021 and they reached out to the LBE point of contacts and asked for election judge recruitment ideas. She also asked any holiday party pics be sent to her.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis said SBE approved the 6 % for the Election Directors and Deputy Directors. He thanked SBE and LBE's for everyone's help. He also suggested that the personnel committee look the job descriptions every two years. Ms. Lavoie echoed Mr. Garreis sentiments in thanking everyone.

Standards-No report at this time.

Voter Outreach – No report at this time.

Voter Registration – No report at this time.

Webmaster – No report at this time.

OLD BUSINESS:

Ms. Lavoie reported that the self-defense course was a huge success. They will offer another one after the first of the year. It will be basic self-defense training and situational awareness.

Chief Brooks and Lieutenant Wherle are working on a "Stop the Bleed" for the 2022 conference.

Ms. Lavoie thanks MAEO for the honor of Ms. Alisha Alexander and herself to represent group on the EAC. Each of their meets are live streams and everyone should tune in if they have a chance,

NEW BUSINESS:

2022 Conference dates: Ms. Lavoie suggested a few dates but she really thinks September 29,2022 should work for everyone. It will be an all-mail in election for the Board.

MOTION: Ms. Abigail Goldman made the motion to schedule the conference for September 29, 2022.

SECOND: Ms. Danna Archie Williams seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried to have the hybrid conference on September 29, 2022

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held at 10:00 am on January 18th, 2022. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Ms. Danna Archie Williams, the meeting was adjourned at 11:18 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE: 12/20/2021

	COUNTY	BOARD MEMBER
NAME		
David Garreis	Anne Arundel	President
Ruie Lavoie	Cecil	Vice President
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County	Treasurer
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City	Secretary
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's	Board Member
Allison Murphy	Caroline	
Amy Sullivan	Harford	
Armstead Jones	Baltimore City	
Barry Jackson	Washington	
Bill Blackston	Wicomico	
Blaire Johnson	Baltimore County	
Brittany Phillips	Dorchester	
Cindy Remmey	Cecil	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's	
Daneen Banks	Prince Georges	
Debra Brohawn	Caroline	
Dionne Church	Wicomico	
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel	
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot	

Gail Hatfield	Calvert
Jeff Stevens	Baltimore County
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico
Karen Benecewicz	Baltimore City
Karen Perry	Cecil
Katherine Berry	Carroll
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kim H. Slusar	Harford
Kirstin Scott	Calvert
Lenice Austin	Baltimore County
Lynn Meyers	Cecil
Marc Welch	Frederick
Mary C. Wagner	SBE
Melissia Dorsey	SBE
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil
Paul Noranbrock	Queen Anne's
Richard T. Siejack	Harford
Rita Walczyk Evans	Baltimore County
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Tammi Derr	Washington
Teresa Womble	Howard
Theresa Church	Frederick

Minutes approved at the January 18, 2022 meeting