

Maryland Association of Election Officials

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

November 16, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held, virtually, on the 16th day of November 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County)
Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County)
Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County)
Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City)
Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County)
Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County)
Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County)
Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County)
Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Please see attached listing.

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:03 am. A quorum was established with 9 of the board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

Mr. Garreis said that Alisha Alexander has an election with early voting right the middle of the holiday season. Her election day is January 4, 2022

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

MINUTES:

No minutes at this time

TREASURER'S REPORT:

No report at this time

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Absentee Ballot - No report at this time.

Audit – No report at this time.

Awards – No report at this time.

Constitution and Bylaws – No report at this time.

Elections – No report at this time.

Early Voting/Election Judge – Ms. Banks reported the committee met and had a presentation from Towson University for the On-Line Training. A questionnaire was sent out and she would appreciate it if you have not answered to please do so.

Election Technology Committee – Mr. Frey said he is planning a meeting On November 17. He invites a couple of guest stars namely Shafiq Satterfield and Natasha Walker.

Legislative – Ms. Berry could not attend this meeting but submitted a report that Mr. Garreis read verbatim.

- o I have a potential bill sponsor for allowing a tax credit for election judges. As soon as the google sheet for election judge pay is completed, I will survey the LBEs to discuss a floor expectation for election judge pay across the board.
- We will be working with several new committee members and a new chair in Ways & Means. As soon as I have the initiatives discussed above, I will reach out to all of the new folks to introduce MAEO to them.
- December 6 will begin the special session of the general assembly. They will be tackling Congressional redistricting. The general assembly has put forth different maps than the governor's redistricting committee. We can expect a lot of heated debate and whichever map is approved in the special session will go to court, so nothing will be able to be done anyway.

Newsletter – Ms. Jessica Noranbrock reported they met on November 11, 2021. Ms. Lavoie stated she tried to join the meeting but was unable but wants to let the committee know how they did a great job in covering the Conference and putting out a fantastic newsletter. Ms. Phillips also commended the committee on the newsletter.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis stated they attended the October 28, 2021 SBE meeting. MAEO sent a letter to SBE President. SBE tabled it until the December meeting.

Standards – No report at this time.

Voter Outreach – No report at this time.

Voter Registration – No report at this time.

Webmaster – No report at this time.

OLD BUSINESS:

Conference Planning Committee: Ms. Lavoie recommends a 1-day conference in Anne Arundel County and make it a hybrid one. Hen in 2023 make it a longer conference like we did in 2021.

MOTION: Ms. Alisha Alexander motioned to take Ms. Lavoie's recommendation to conduct a 1-day hybrid meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Alysoun McLaughlin seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS:

Mr. Garreis was pleased to announce that Ms. Alisha Alexander and Ms. Ruie Lavoie have been appointed to the EAC Advisory Board.

Canvass Lessons Learned: Mr. Garreis reported on his issues he had with his Annapolis City Election with Watchers i.e. mask wearing, push back on signature and date, verification of signatures, date stamp on the signature side of the envelope to name a few.

Storage: Storage in the LBE's is an issue. Suggestions were to rent shipping containers for additional storage.

Holiday party: The get together will be held on December 20, 2021 in Anne Arundel BOE after the meeting.

OPEN FORUM

Self-defense course – Ms. Lavoie reminded everyone to sign up.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held at 10:00 am on December 20, 2021. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Ms. Danna Archie Williams, the meeting was adjourned at 11:13 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

NAME	COUNTY	BOARD MEMBER
David Garreis	Anne Arundel	President
Ruie Lavoie	Cecil	Vice President
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County	Treasurer
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City	Secretary
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges	Board Member
Alysoun McLaughlin	Montgomery	Board Member
Ben Frey	Somerset	Board Member
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's	Board Member
Kimberly Phillips	Howard	Board Member
Allison Murphy	Caroline	
Amber Ringgold		
Amy Sullivan	Harford	
Anthony Gutierrez	Wicomico	
Armstead Jones	Baltimore City	
Barbara Wagner	Frederick	
Bill Blackston	Wicomico	
Blair Williams	Frederick	
Brandy Gordo	Alleghany	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent	
Crystal	Alleghany	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's	
Daneen Banks	Prince Georges	
Debbie	Caroline	
Debra Brohawn	Caroline	
Diane Loibel	Alleghany	

Dionne Church	Wicomico	
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel	
Evan Newcomb		
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot	
Gwendolyn Dales	Dorchester	
Jayne Lister	Queen Anne's	
Jeff Stevens	Baltimore County	
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester	
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico	
Judi East	Wicomico	
Karen Benecewicz	Baltimore City	
Karen Perry	Cecil	
Katherine Berry	Carroll	
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's	
Kim Slusar	Harford	
Lattef Owodunni	Prince Georges	
Linda Nash	Baltimore County	
Marc Welch	Frederick	
Melissa	Alleghany	
Melissia Dorsey	SBE	
Michelle Meekins	Kent	
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil	
Nicole Hill	Anne Arundel	
Patty Jackson	Worcester	
Paul Noranbrock	Queen Anne's	
Phoenix Blount	Frederick	
Reider Bennett White	Anne Arundel	
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel	
Rita Walczk	Baltimore County	
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel	
Ron Thomas	Baltimore County	
Rose Johnson	Baltimore County	
Sloane Hurley	Dorchester	
Stephanie Taylor	Harford	
Stephen Feryus	Harford	
Tammy Willis	Caroline	
Teresa Womble	Howard	
Tiffany Ferrell	Howard	
Virginia Green	Harford	