

Maryland Association of Election Officials

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

Friday, October 29, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held, virtually, on the 29th day of October 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County)
Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County)
Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County)
Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City)
Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County)
Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County)
Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County)
Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

EXCUSED:

Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County)

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Please see attached listing.

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:06 am. A quorum was established with 8 of the board members present and 1 excused. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

Mr. Garreis mentioned that they were working on the grades for Directors and Deputies and they met with the State Board at their last meeting and they are working through their differences. The State Board will be bringing it up at their December meeting

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA: None

MINUTES:

The Board Minutes of the September 10, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Ruie Lavoie to approve the Minutes of the September 10, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Danna Archie Williams seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

The Board Minutes of the September 30, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Ruie Lavoie to approve the Minutes of the September 30, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Danna Archie Williams seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

Ms. Danna Archie-Williams presented her report to the Board. There is a balance on hand of \$57,551.48 and \$15,000 of that is earmarked for the 2022 conference.

MOTION: Ms. Kimberly Phillips moved to accept the Treasures report.

SECOND: Ms. Abigail Goldman seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Absentee Ballot - No report at this time.

Audit – No report at this time.

Awards – Ms. Archie-Williams said all Awards and Recognitions have been mailed to recipients and she has received several thank you cards for them.

Constitution and Bylaws – No report at this time.

Elections – No report at this time.

Early Voting/Election Judge – Ms. Banks reported a meeting was held for online training and she will be sending out a survey on it.

Election Technology Committee – Mr. Frey said he is planning a meeting for the 2^{nd} or 3^{rd} week of November.

Legislative – Ms. Katie Berry sent surveys out for feedback on legislation that is planned in Annapolis. Senator Kaiser is stepping down from being the Chair of her Committee.

Newsletter – Ms. Jessica Noranbrock said they are working on the post conference issue. They hope to have it out by October 15, 2021.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis and Ms. Ruie Lavoie gave an overview of what occurred at the Board meeting.

Standards– Ms. Dionne Church said they submitted the committees review to Mary Wagner to go over.

Voter Outreach – No report at this time.

Voter Registration – Ms. Karen Perry gave a short report saying they met last week.

Webmaster – No report at this time.

Mr. Max Olterdorf briefly introduced Electask. His contact information is max@electask.com and his phone is 760-274-5082.

OLD BUSINESS:

Conference Planning Committee: Ms. Lavoie spoke to hotels in Baltimore City, Annapolis and Hunt Valley for a one-day conference. We would have to pay for meeting space etc. The final conclusion is recommending that the 2022 hold a one-day virtual conference and in 2023 hold a bigger conference with SBE in person. The Board supports Ms. Lavoie's suggestion for one day conference.

NEW BUSINESS:

none

OPEN FORUM

none

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held at 10:00 pm on November 17, 2021. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Kimberly Phillips and second by Ms. Ruie Lavoie, the meeting was adjourned at 10:50 am.

Respectfully submitted,

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

NAME	COUNTY	BOARD MEMBER
David Garreis	Anne Arundel	President
Ruie Lavoie	Cecil	Vice President
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County	Treasurer
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City	Secretary
Alysoun McLaughlin	Montgomery	Board Member
Ben Frey	Somerset	Board Member
Kimberly Phillips	Howard	Board Member
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's	Board Member
Allison Murphy	Caroline	
Armstead Jones	Baltimore City	
Barbara Morgan	Frederick	
Brittany Feagans	Calvert	
Brittany Phillips	Dorchester	
Carl Dayley	Washington	
Catherine Mundel	Harford	
Charlotte Davis	Howard	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent	
Cindy Remmey	Cecil	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's	
Debra Brohawn	Caroline	
Devin Jones	Anne Arundel	
Dionne Church	Wicomico	
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel	
Eduardo DeLima	Carroll	
Erin Perrone	Carroll	
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot	
Gail Hatfield	Calvert	
Glen Muir	Baltimore City	
Gwendolyn Dales	Dorchester	
Hassan Aslam	Anne Arundel	
Jayne Lister	Queen Anne's	
Jeff Stevens	Baltimore County	
Jeri Cook	Talbot	
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester	
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico	
Joe Torre	Anne Arundel	
Karen Perry	Cecil	

Katherine Berry	Carroll
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kim H. Slusar	Harford
Kim Jones	Carroll
Kim Spence	Harford
Kimberly Jones	Dorchester
Kirk Baskerville	Baltimore City
Kirstin Scott	Calvert
Lisa Nash	Baltimore County
Marc Welch	Frederick
Marshall Garrett	Harford
Mary C. Wagner	SBE
Michelle Meekins	Kent
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil
Nicole Hill	Anne Arundel
Paul Noranbrock	Queen Anne's
Paula Pascall	SBE
Reider Bennett White	Anne Arundel
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Richard T. Siejack	Harford
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Ron Thomas	Baltimore County
Samantha Logsdon	Alleghany
Shawn Larson	Baltimore City
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Stephen Feryus	Harford
Svetlana Passey	Calvert
Tae Ferrar	St. Mary's
Tammy Willis	Caroline
Teresa Riggins	Worcester
Teresa Womble	Howard
Tiffany Ferrell	Howard
Tracy Dickerson	Charles
Virginia Green	Harford

Minutes approved at the December 20, 2021 meeting.