

Thursday, September 30, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held, virtually, on the 30th day of September 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

OFFICERS AND BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Please see attached listing.

CALL TO ORDER:

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:03 am. A quorum was established with all of the board members present. Introductions were made and roll call of those in attendance was recorded.

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA:

None

MINUTES:

The Board Minutes of the July 13, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Ruie Lavoie to approve the Minutes of the July 13, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Kimberly Phillips seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

The Board Minutes of the August 23, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Ruie Lavoie to approve the Minutes of the August 23, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Kimberly Phillips seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

Ms. Danna Archie-Williams presented her report to the Board.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Absentee Ballot - No report at this time.

Audit – No report at this time.

Awards – Ms. Archie-Williams said all Awards and Recognitions have been mailed to recipients.

Constitution and Bylaws – Ms. Alisha Alexander is working on updating the bylaws that were passed at the conference.

Elections – No report at this time.

Early Voting/Election Judge – Ms. Banks reported that a meeting will be held in early to mid-October.

Election Technology Committee – Held a mini meeting.

Legislative – Ms. Katie Berry said there will be a special session in December for redistricting. Ms. Berry was also contacted for information to meet with a delegate to discuss usage of cell phones in polling places and curbside voting.

Newsletter – Ms. Jessica Noranbrock said they are working on the post conference issue. They hope to have it out by October 15, 2021.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis and Ms. Ruie Lavoie said they have finished the narrative and are meeting with the State Board in October. They hope the finalization of the reclassifications will be on the October State Board meeting.

Standards– Ms. Dionne Church said their last meeting was in August. They are still reviewing the online library and this project has included other MAEO committees.

Voter Outreach – No report at this time.

Voter Registration – Ms. Karen Perry gave a short report that they are working with the Standard committee.

Webmaster – Mr. Hassan Aslam reported that he has updated the website and has posted the MAEO Conference information.

Ms. Abigail Goldman ask the Committee chairpersons to make sure they tell her when their meeting will be so she can inform the Board in case they want to listen in.

OLD BUSINESS:

2021 Annual Conference and SBE Biennial -

Ms. Ruie Lavoie said we have received a lot of kudos about how good the 2021 Conference was. She thanked all that helped out.

A 2022 Conference survey was sent to the Election Directors and Deputy Directors to ascertain their preference on when to hold it. It was evenly broken down. She would like to table this until the October meeting.

NEW BUSINESS:

Ms. Ruie Lavoie had several requests from members after the Run, Hide, Fight training at MAEO for a woman's self defense training. Deputy Wehrle is willing to do it but there is a cost of \$60 per person. Please send her an email if you want to attend the twining. She is working to reduce the fee and ill send out information to everyone once details are finalized.

OPEN FORUM

Ms. Alisha Alexander will be reaching out to the large LBE's concerning ballots by precincts and the issues they will be facing.

Ms. Lavoie reported that she attended the NASAD virtual training and found it was a great training. She encourages all to take it. It will be held two more times in October.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held at 10:00 pm on Friday, October 29, 2021. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and second by Ms. Abigail Goldman, the meeting was adjourned at 11:12 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Approved by Board at the October 29, 2021 Board Meeting

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

NAME	COUNTY	BOARD MEMBER
David Garreis	Anne Arundel	President
Ruie Lavoie	Cecil	Vice President
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County	Treasurer
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City	Secretary
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges	Board Member
Alysoun McLaughlin	Montgomery	Board Member
Ben Frey	Somerset	Board Member
Kimberly Phillips	Howard	Board Member
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's	Board Member
Allison Murphy	Caroline	
Armstead Jones	Baltimore City	
Barbara Morgan	Frederick	
Brittany Feagans	Calvert	
Brittany Phillips	Dorchester	
Carl Dayley	Washington	
Catherine Mundel	Harford	
Charlotte Davis	Howard	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent	
Cindy Remmey	Cecil	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's	
Debra Brohawn	Caroline	
Devin Jones	Anne Arundel	
Dionne Church	Wicomico	
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel	
Eduardo DeLima	Carroll	
Erin Perrone	Carroll	
Fred Gloeckler	Talbot	
Gail Hatfield	Calvert	
Glen Muir	Baltimore City	
Gwendolyn Dales	Dorchester	
Hassan Aslam	Anne Arundel	
Jayne Lister	Queen Anne's	
Jeff Stevens	Baltimore County	

Jeri Cook	Talbot
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico
Joe Torre	Anne Arundel
Karen Perry	Cecil
Katherine Berry	Carroll
Kelly Eichelberger	Queen Anne's
Kim H. Slusar	Harford
Kim Jones	Carroll
Kim Spence	Harford
Kimberly Jones	Dorchester
Kirk Baskerville	Baltimore City
Kirstin Scott	Calvert
Lisa Nash	Baltimore County
Marc Welch	Frederick
Marshall Garrett	Harford
Mary C. Wagner	SBE
Michelle Meekins	Kent
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil
Nicole Hill	Anne Arundel
Paul Noranbrock	Queen Anne's
Paula Pascall	SBE
Reider Bennett White	Anne Arundel
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Richard T. Siejack	Harford
Robert Brady	Anne Arundel
Ron Thomas	Baltimore County
Samantha Logsdon	Alleghany
Shawn Larson	Baltimore City
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Stephen Feryus	Harford
Svetlana Passey	Calvert
Tae Ferrar	St. Mary's
Tammy Willis	Caroline
Teresa Riggins	Worcester
Teresa Womble	Howard
Tiffany Ferrell	Howard
Tracy Dickerson	Charles
Virginia Green	Harford