Thursday, May 6, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held, virtually, on the 6th day of May 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

Officers and Board Members Present:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Abigail Goldman, Secretary (Baltimore City) Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County)

Board Member excused: Danna Archie-Williams, Treasurer (Baltimore County)

Members Present:

Please see attached listing.

CALL TO ORDER

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:05 am. A quorum was established with a majority of board members present. Introductions were made and a roll call of those in attendance was recorded. Mr. Garreis announced the resignation of the Election Committee Chair but will address it under Committee Reports.

AGENDA

After having no changes or additions to the Agenda, the Board accepted the agenda as presented.

MINUTES

The Board Minutes of the April 6, 2021 meeting were presented.

MOTION: Ms. Alexander to approve the Minutes of the April 6, 2021 meeting.

SECOND: Ms. Kimberly Phillips seconded the motion.

ACTION: All Board members voted in favor of the motion. Motion carried and Board minutes were approved.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Ms. Ruie Lavoie gave an oral report for Ms. Williams. She reported Ms. Williams has received all payment for dues and 1 vendor registration fee for the conference. At this time there are over 300 members in the organization.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Absentee Ballot- They have met two times and are looking at the problems we encountered from the last election. They are waiting to see what Legislation passed in 2021 will affect us. They will be meeting again this month.

Audit: Ms. Gail Hatfield said she has no report as of today.

Awards – No report at this time.

Constitution and Bylaws – Ms. Alisha Alexander is planning a meeting next week on either Tuesday or Thursday to discuss the goals of the committee.

Elections – Mr. Garreis reported that Mr. Mickley has resigned and he will be looking for a new committee head. If you are interested in heading the committee to please send him an email.

Early Voting/Election Judge – Ms. Daneen Banks reported that she is setting up a demonstration of Prince Georges OEM and Frederick Counties election day module. This will be on May 12, 2021 at 10:00 am so look for an invite.

Election Technology Committee – Mr. Ben Frey reported that they are meeting tomorrow and are looking at a long agenda.

Legislative: Ms. Katie Berry said that she is looking to set up workgroups to get information so they are ready for what legislation may be introduced in the next session. The group topics will include: Absentee, Post-Election Model, Canvass- live streaming, Open meeting model to name a few. Look for a survey if you want to serve on any of these work groups.

Newsletter – Mr. Ben Frey reported it is in the final draft and should be sent out shortly.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis and Ms. Ruie Lavoie said they have received 23 out of the 24 Boards letters and they are working on a narrative to go before the State Board meeting. In addition, Ms. Lavoie will be sending out an e-invite for a virtual training with Shermaine Malcolm and Chris Lohr on how to conduct reclassifications etc.

Standards – Ms. Dionne Church stated that they held a productive meeting last Friday and their long time goal is working on a procedures manual for MDVOTERS. Their next meeting is May 26, 2021.

State Registration Review – Ms. Katie Berry – no report

Voter Outreach – Mr. Gilberto Zelaya gave a report.

Voter Registration –Ms. Karen Perry reported that the next meeting will be held on May 10, 2021,

Webmaster – No report

OLD BUSINESS

2021 Annual Conference and SBE Biennial - Ms. Ruie Lavoie and Ms. Abigail Goldman

Members have called the Clarion to reserve rooms.

Ms. Lavoie presented to the Board of Registration Form to the Board. She asked for their approval of the form so it can be sent out to the membership.

MOTION: Ms. Alexander to approve the Registration form for the 2021 Annual Conference. SECOND: Mr. Ben Frey. ACTION: Favorable and unanimous, Motion carried.

Ms. Lavoie also reminded the membership that if their Board Members are not attending in person or virtually the States Biennial day they must get a waiver from State Administrator Linda Lamone. They waiver request must be addressed to Ms. Lamone but sent to Ms. Mary Wagner as soon as possible.

NEW BUSINESS

None

OPEN FORUM

Ms. Alisha Alexander said she did not forget about setting up a small workgroup on the precinct based ballots.

Ms. Chrissy Jones reported the iGO conference will be held in person this year and this year the venue is in New York City.

Ms. Stephanie Taylor said that the Harford Board of Elections is closed for painting for the next few days

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held 10 am on Tuesday, June 15, 2021. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Ruie Lavoie and a second by Ms. Kimberly Phillips, the meeting was adjourned at 11:15 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary

Approved by Board at the June 15, 2021 meeting.

MEETING ATTENDENCE:

| NAME | COUNTY | BOARD MEMBER |
|--------------------|------------------|----------------|
| David Garreis | Anne Arundel | President |
| Ruie Lavoie | Cecil | Vice President |
| Abigail Goldman | Baltimore City | Secretary |
| Alisha Alexander | Prince Georges | Board Member |
| Alysoun McLaughlin | Montgomery | Board Member |
| Ben Frey | Somerset | Board Member |
| Kimberly Phillips | Howard | Board Member |
| Christine Jones | Queen Anne's | Board Member |
| | | |
| Allison Murphy | Caroline | |
| Amy Sullivan | Harford | |
| Anthony Gui | Wicomico | |
| Armstead Jones | Baltimore City | |
| Barry Jackson | Washington | |
| Bill Blackston | Wicomico | |
| Brani Underwood | St. Mary's | |
| Brenda Ross | Cecil | |
| Cathy Quesenberry | Queen Anne's | |
| Cheemoandia Blake | Kent | |
| Cindy Remmey | Cecil | |
| Crystal McGinn | Queen Anne's | |
| Daneen Banks | Prince Georges | |
| Deborah Brohawn | Caroline | |
| Dionne Church | Wicomico | |
| Donald Gaither | Anne Arundel | |
| Duane Souder | Cecil | |
| Gail Hatfield | Calvert | |
| Gilberto Zelaya | Montgomery | |
| Gwendolyn Dales | Dorchester | |
| Jayne Lister | Queen Anne's | |
| Jeff Stevens | Baltimore County | |
| Jessica Noranbrock | Dorchester | |

| Jocelyn Abbott | Wicomico |
|--------------------|------------------|
| Jocelyn Montgomery | Wicomico |
| Karen Benecewicz | Baltimore City |
| Karen Perry | Cecil |
| Katherine Berry | Carroll |
| Katie Brown | Baltimore County |
| Kelly Eichelberger | Queen Anne's |
| Kim H. Slusar | Harford |
| Kim Spence | Harford |
| Kimberly Jones | Dorchester |
| Lateef Owodunni | Prince Georges |
| Lisa Nash | Baltimore County |
| Marc Welch | Frederick |
| Mary C. Wagner | SBE |
| Monica Fields | Howard |
| Nathan Reynolds | Cecil |
| Patricia Jackson | Worecester |
| Patricia Thorpe | Prince Georges |
| Paula Pascall | SBE |
| Richard Jerscheid | Anne Arundel |
| Richard T. Siejack | Harford |
| Rita Walczkevans | Baltimore County |
| Robert Brady | Anne Arundel |
| Ron Rhomas | Baltimore County |
| Sloane Hurley | Dorchester |
| Stuart Harvey | Frederick |
| Susan Julian | St. Mary's |
| Svetlana Passey | Calvert |
| Tae Ferrar | St. Mary's |
| Tammy Willis | Caroline |
| Teresa Morningstar | Washington |
| Teresa Womble | Howard |
| Theresa Riggins | Worecester |
| Tiffany Ferrell | Howard |
| Tracy Dickerson | Charles |
| Wendy Adkins | St. Mary's |