# Tuesday, April 6, 2021 MINUTES

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held, virtually, on the 6th day of April 2021. Notice of the meeting and the agenda were properly provided.

## Officers and Board Members Present:

David Garreis, President (Anne Arundel County) Ruie Marie Lavoie, Vice President (Cecil County) Danna Archie-Williams (Baltimore County) Alisha Alexander, Board Member (Prince George's County) Ben Frey, Board Member (Somerset County) Chrissy Jones, Board Member (Queen Anne's County) Alysoun McLaughlin, Board Member (Montgomery County) Kimberly Phillips, Board Member (Howard County) Vacant, Secretary

### Members Present:

Please see attached listing.

# CALL TO ORDER

President David Garreis called the meeting to order at 10:05 am. A quorum was established with all board members present. Introductions were made and a roll call of those in attendance was recorded. Mr. Garreis announced the resignation of the Treasurer but will bring up her replacement under new business.

# AGENDA

After having no changes or additions to the Agenda, the Board accepted the agenda as written.

# MINUTES

The Board Minutes of the March 9, 2021 meeting were tabled until the next meeting.

# TREASURER'S REPORT

Ms. Danna Archie Williams gave her report. She was happy to announce that we currently have 358 paid members.

MOTION: Ms. Alisha Alexander motioned to approve the Treasurer's Report as submitted.

SECOND: Ms. Ruie Lavoie seconded.

ACTION: Favorable and unanimous, Motion carried.

# **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Legislative: Mr. Jared DeMarinis, Mr. Stuart Harvey and Ms. Mary Wagner gave the membership and over view of what has passed and what looks to not pass. However, with Sine Die right around the corner things can change.

Audit: Ms. Gail Hatfield said she has no report as of today.

Constitution and Bylaws – Ms. Alisha Alexander will be reaching out to the member of the committee to schedule a review of the existing bylaws in the very near future.

Elections – No report

Early Voting/Election Judge – Ms. Daneen Banks reported a meeting is scheduled of April 7, 2021.

Election Technology Committee – Mr. Ben Frey reported he cleaned up the email list and will be organizing a meeting of the committee in the next couple of weeks.

Newsletter – Mr. Ben Freyhas planned a meeting on April 9, 2021 and the committee has a few new members. He will be reaching out to the Election community for their recollections and memories of the 2020 election cycle.

Personnel – Mr. David Garreis will be scheduling a meeting with the Directors and Deputy Directors in the coming weeks.

Standards – Ms. Dionne Church plans to have her committee to meet in a few weeks.

State Registration Review – Ms. Katie Berry – no report

Voter Outreach – No report

Voter Registration – Ms. Kim Phillips and Ms. Karen Perry reported that they are setting up a meeting for the end of the month.

Vote by Mail – No report

Awards – Ms. Danna Archie Williams – no report at this time.

# **OLD BUSINESS**

2021 Annual Conference and SBE Biennial - Ms. Ruie Lavoie and Ms. Abigail Goldman

Ms. Lavoie reported that on March 31 the committee met as a whole. The survey that was sent out to all members via County Support and 197 response were received. Out of those only 28 stated that they would not feel safe attending. We received from the Clarion Addendum Agreement - 2021 MAEO Conference. She asked the Board to take a vote on it and if it passes Mr. Garreis can sign it and send it back.

MOTION: Ms. Alexander to approve the Addendum Agreement and to move forward SECOND: Ms. Chrissy Jones.

ACTION: Favorable and unanimous, Motion carried.

Board Vacancy – Mr. Garreis reported the Ms. Monica Fields resigned after last months meeting. He checked the Bylaws and according to them it can be filled by making a nomination and voting on it.

Mr. Richard Siejack, the Parliamentarian, stated that the bylaws state that it has to first be offered to the treasurer, Ms. Danna Archie-Williams and if she turns it down nominations can be held.

Mr. Garreis asked Ms. Archie-Williams and she emphatically turned it down. Mr. Garreis then said his thought was to go to the next person in line from the election results. In this case it would be Ms. Abigail Goldman. He reached out to her and she agreed to take the position in mid-stream.

MOTION: Mr. Garris made the motion to nominate Ms. Abigail Goldman to the position of Secretary. SECOND: Ms. Ruie Lavoie ACTION: Favorable and unanimous, Motion carried.

iGo CPL Course and iGo Webinar "For the People" – Ms. Chrissy Jones reported on how much each of the iGo courses were worthwhile.

Mr. Garreis asked Ms. Jones if iGo is going forward with their Summer Conference. She answered yes they are in and in person. It is being held at the Sheraton in Times Square in New York City on July 16 through July 23.

### **OPEN FORUM**

The floor was opened for comments and questions. There were no comments at this time.

#### NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held 10 am on Tuesday, May 6, 2021. Proper notice and the agenda will be provided.

#### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Ms. Danna Archie-Williams and a second by Ms. Kimberly Phillips, the meeting was adjourned at 11:05 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Abigail Goldman Secretary Approved by Board at the May 6, 2021 meeting. MEETING ATTENDENCE:

NAME	COUNTY	<b>BOARD MEMBER</b>
------	--------	---------------------

David Garreis	Anne Arundel	President
Ruie Lavoie	Cecil	Vice President
Danna Archie-Williams	Baltimore County	Treasurer
Abigail Goldman	Baltimore City	Secretary
Alisha Alexander	Prince Georges	Board Member
Alysoun McLaughlin	Montgomery	Board Member
Ben Frey	Somerset	Board Member
, Kimberly Phillips	Howard	Board Member
Christine Jones	Queen Anne's	Board Member
Bruce Robinson	Baltimore County	
Catherine Mundle	Harford	
Cathy Queensberry	Queen Anne's	
Cheemoandia Blake	Kent	
Crystal McGinn	Queen Anne's	
Daneen Banks	Prince Georges	
Deborah Brohawn	Caroline	
Deborah Hamer	Montgomery	
Diane Loibel	Alleghany	
Dionne Church	Wicomico	
Donald Gaither	Anne Arundel	
Duane Souder	Cecil	
Erin Perrone	Carroll	
Fred Gleocker	Frederick	
Gail Hatfield	Calvert	
Gilberto Zelaya	Montgomery	
Gwendolyn Dales	Dorchester	
Jared DeMarinis	SBE	
Jayne Lister	Queen Anne's	
Jeff Stevens	Baltimore County	
Jeri Cook	Talbot	
Jessica Noranbrock	Dorchester	
Jocelyn Abbott	Wicomico	
Joseph Torre	Anne Arundel	
Karen Benecewicz	Baltimore City	
Karen Perry	Cecil	
Katherine Berry	Carroll	
Kim H. Slusar	Harford	
Kim Spence	Harford	
Kimberly Jones	Dorchester	
Kristen Scott	Calvert	
Lateef Owodunni	Prince Georges	
Marc Welch	Frederick	
Mary C. Wagner	SBE	
Michelle Meekins	Kent	
Nathan Reynolds	Cecil	
Paul Noranbrock	Queen Anne's	

Reider Bennett-White	Anne Arundel
Richard Jerscheid	Anne Arundel
Richard T. Siejack	Harford
Sarah Mohan	Harford
Stephanie Taylor	Harford
Stephen Feryus	Harford
Stuart Harvey	Frederick
Susan Julian	St. Mary's
Teresa Womble	Howard
Theresa Riggins	Worecester
Timothy Keith	Calvert
Tracy Dickerson	Charles
Wendy Adkins	St. Mary's