

Maryland Association of Election Officials

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

MINUTES June 9, 2015

A meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was held on the 9th day of June, 2015 in the Grand ballroom on the 4th Floor of the Grand Hotel and Spa located at 2100 Baltimore Avenue in Ocean City, Maryland.

Board Members Present:

Gail Hatfield, President, Calvert County Guy Mickley, Vice President, Howard County Ruie Marie Lavoie, Secretary, Baltimore County Allison Murphy, Treasurer, Caroline County Alisha Alexander, Board Member, Prince George's County Katherine Berry, Board Member, Carroll County Katie A. Brown, Board Member, Baltimore County Tracy Dickerson, Board Member, Charles County David Garreis, Board Member, Anne Arundel County Abigail Goldman, Board Member, Baltimore City

Ruie Lavoie conducted roll call. All Board members and officers were present and all twentyfour (24) Maryland jurisdictions and the State Board of Elections (SBE) were present and represented. A list of attendees is attached to and made part of these minutes.

CALL TO ORDER

Having met quorum, the meeting was called to order by President Gail Hatfield at 5:08 pm. Ms. Hatfield thanked everyone involved in planning the conference for their contributions. Appreciation was extended Kim Wooten, the hotel event coordinator and Anna, the lead caterer. Ms. Hatfield also thanked Calvert County for helping with organizing the giveaways, Katie Brown and Baltimore County for putting together the attendee folders and name badges, David Garreis for his work with the vendors and sponsors, and Shawn Larson, the conference planner for the countless hours spent to ensure the conference was a success.

AGENDA

Ms. Hatfield asked for changes or additions to the Agenda. Vendor introductions will be moved to Wednesday morning and added to the Annual Meeting agenda. No further changes or additions were made. The agenda was unanimously approved with noted item removed.

CONFERENCE THEME WINNER

Tammy Willis, Awards Committee Chair, announced Rena' Waggoner (Baltimore County) as the 2016 Conference Theme winner. This year's theme is "MAEO – Making All Election Outstanding." Ms. Waggoner received a complimentary conference package and everyone who entered the contest received a small token of appreciation.

ELECTION

Jeff Stevens, Election Committee Chair explained the election process and the contents of the ballot. He explained that information has been provided to all members outlining the ballot questions and process. He asked for volunteers to serve as the Board of Canvassers and assist with tallying the ballots. The new ballot scanner will be used. Mr. Stevens invited everyone to observe the process and the new equipment. A copy of the ballot is attached to and made part of these minutes.

QUESTION 1 – Article III of the Bylaws – Membership

Gail Hatfield announced that it was determined at the Board meeting held earlier that day due to the untimely submission, Question 1 has been removed from the ballot and votes will not be processed for this proposed amendment. Question 1 will placed on the ballot at the 2016 Annual Meeting and go before the membership for a vote.

ENTERAINMENT

Guy Mickley, Entertainment Committee Chair provided a brief description of the conference entertainment including a "That's 70's Dance" and the 1st MAEO Luau.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be the 2015 Annual Meeting of the Membership and will be held on June 11, 2015 in the Grande Ballroom on the 4th Floor of the Grand Hotel & Spa located at 2100 Baltimore Avenue in Ocean City, Maryland. The Annual Meeting will be called to order at 9:00 am.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, on a motion made by Kimberly Phillips (Howard County) and a second by Joshua Ramos (Anne Arundel County), the meeting was adjourned at 5:38 pm.

Respectfully submitted, abie

Rúie Marie Lavoie Secretary

Approved this 19th day of June, 2016

Maryland Association of Election Officials



Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

2015 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERSHIP <u>ATTENDANCE- JUNE 9, 2015</u>

COUNTY	PRESENT/ABSENT
ALLEGANY	
ANNE ARUNDEL	
BALTIMORE CITY	
BALTIMORE	
CALVERT	
CAROLINE	
CARROLL	
CECIL	
CHARLES	
DORCHESTER	
FREDRICK	
GARRETT	
HARFORD	
HOWARD	
KENT	
MONTGOMERY	~
PRINCE GEORGE'S	
QUEEN ANNE'S	
SAINT MARY'S	
SOMERSET	
TALBOT	
WASHINGTON	
WICOMICO	
WORCHESTER	
STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (SBE)	

BOARD:

GAIL HAITFIELD, PRESIDENT GUY MICKELY, VICE PRESIDENT RUIE LAVOIE, SECRETARY ALLISON MURPHY, TREASURER ALISHA ALEXANDAR, BOARD MEMBER KATHERINE BERRY, BOARD MEMBER KATIE BROWN, BOARD MEMBER TRACEY DICKERSON, BOARD MEMBER DAVID GARREIS, BOARD MEMBER ABIGAIL GOLDMAN, BOARD MEMBER