

Maryland Association of Election Officials

Representing the Local Election Boards of the State of Maryland

MINUTES 2013 Annual Meeting of the Membership Hyattsville, Maryland

The 50th Annual Conference was held at the Marriott Inn and Conference Center in Hyattsville, Maryland. The opening meeting of the 2013 Annual Meeting of the Membership was called to order by President Gail Hatfield, Calvert County at 5:12 pm.

Secretary Mary DePelteau, Calvert County, conducted Roll Call. 24 local jurisdictions were represented and responded as present, establishing a quorum.

On behalf of the Board, President Hatfield welcomed all attendees to the 50th Conference and Annual Meeting of the Membership. The Board was introduced as follows:

President Gail Hatfield, Calvert County

Vice President Anthony Gutierrez, Wicomico County

Treasurer Allison Murphy, Caroline County

Mary DePelteau, Secretary, Calvert County

Board Member Katherine Berry, Carroll County

Board Member Katie A. Brown, Baltimore County

Board Member Abigail Goldman, Baltimore City

Board Member David Garreis, Anne Arundel County

Board Member Guy Mickley, Howard County

President Hatfield recognized the efforts and hard work of our Conference Planner, Shawn Larson, Harford County, as well as everyone involved in making the conference a success. President Hatfield acknowledged the Host County, Prince George's County and thanked Alisha Alexander, Elections Administrator.

David Garreis, Anne Arundel County, introduced and thanked the vendors and encouraged everyone to show support and visit the vendor area.

There being no further business at this time, Ms. Hatfield called for a Motion to adjourn the meeting until 9:00 am the following morning. On a Motion by Katie Brown, Baltimore County and seconded by Guy Mickley, Howard County, the Meeting was adjourned at 5:47 pm.

The 50th Annual Meeting of the Maryland Association of Election Officials (MAEO) was called to order by President Gail Hatfield, Calvert County at 9:06 am. President Hatfield welcomed all conference attendees and asked for a round of applause for the Conference Host County, Prince

George's County Board of Elections. Ms. Hatfield also thanked Prince George's County for the special gift bags each attendee received.

Secretary Mary DePelteau, Calvert County, conducted Roll Call of 24 jurisdictions (Counties/Baltimore City). A quorum was established with all 24 local jurisdictions present. The State Board of Elections was also represented.

John Rowe, Prince George's County, led the prayer and asked for a moment of silence in remembrance and in honor of members who have passed away. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Rowe. Opening Remarks were given by Beatrice Tignor, President of the Prince George's County Board of Elections. She introduced Senator James C. Rosapepe who spoke briefly and thanked MAEO for their input and hard work in elections.

The Membership was provided a copy of the Minutes from the 2012 Annual Meeting of the Membership President Hatfield asked for additions or changes. No additions or changes. Paula Bailey, Calvert County, made a Motion to accept the Minutes as written. Second by Raymond Bentz, Frederick County. The 2012 Annual Meeting Minutes were unanimously approved as written.

Treasurer Allison Murphy presented the Treasurer's Report, dated May 29, 2013 and a copy was provided to the membership. An Audit was completed on May 29, 2013. Molly Neal, Harford County made a Motion to accept the Treasurer's Report as presented. Second by Alisa Alexander, Prince George's County. The Treasurer's Report and Audit was unanimously approved as submitted.

President Hatfield announced each MAEO Member was provided a copy of the Committee Reports as follows: *Constitution and Bylaws, Continuing Education, Legislative, Early Voting, Election Assistance Commission*, and *Personnel* Committees.

Ms. Hatfield provided a few conference details, explained the entertainment, food choices and dinner cruise. The 50th Anniversary Memory Book was provided to each attendee, and a CD with all pictures is one sale in the lobby. Proceeds will benefit the MAEO Educational Fund. She further explained the suggestion box on each table is for unanimous suggestions or comments about Early Voting.

The Seminars began and were as follows:

Seminar I Early Voting, Gilbert Zelaya, Montgomery County Seminar II Google Apps, Keith Ross, State Board of Elections

Seminar III MDVoters/OLVR, Stacey Johnson, Mary Wagner, Mary Jo Waite

State Board of Elections

Seminar IV Legislative Panel

Seminar V Election Innovation, Val Patterson, Howard County

President Hatfield presented the "Shining Star" Awards to the following:

Alisha Alexander, Prince George's County – successfully led the Prince George's Board through election after election for over 6 years with limited resources. Demonstrates a commitment to refining processes to help their agency move forward, leads by example and never asks others to do something she is not willing to do herself.

Shawn Larson, Harford County – For behind the scenes work planning the MAEO conferences. He is an exemplary organizer and the success of the MAEO Conferences speak well of a job well done.

Jeff Stevens, Baltimore County – Goes above and beyond managing the MAEO elections and ensuring our voting process is complete and accurate.

Keith Ross, State Board of Elections – For taking the extra step to communicate with the local boards and building a relationship between the local boards and State Board to collaborate, document and share information.

Allison Murphy, Caroline County – Received two (2), one from Sand Logan, Caroline County Directors, and one from MAEO for her job as Treasurer. She an excellent job as treasurer, is always available, never complains and always has a bright outlook.

President Hatfield again thanked the Board, the Membership, Vendors and Sponsors for their part in making the 50th annual conference a huge success.

Members were asked to complete the conference surveys and give to Shawn Larson or one of the Board members.

There being no further business on a motion by Tim Wood, St. Mary's County, and a seconded by Harold Ruston, Prince George's County, the 50th Conference and Annual Meeting of the Membership was adjourned at 4:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted.

Ruie Marie Lavoie

Acting Secretary

On behalf of Mary DePelteau, MAEO Secretary

Approved on this ______ day of March, 2014.